Last week a man in Newark, NJ was brutally beaten and robbed however the assailants did not steal the man’s jewelry or money but rather took his marijuana. The interesting part is that the man who was robbed called the police and reported the incident and was found by the police to be in possession of marijuana! The ‘victim’ still reported to the police officers that the robbers took about 30 dime bags of marijuana, which is worth around $300 on the streets. Although New Jersey is one of only a handful of states that now allow for medical marijuana it should be clear that in the majority of cases marijuana possession is still against the law.
Marijuana law seems to be constantly changing. At one time the plant was prohibited in all forms, and now the law has changed to the point that it is allowed in limited situations. Many on Capitol Hill are even arguing that the war on marijuana should be done away with completely and are demanding legalization. This leads to some unfortunate confusion regarding marijuana use as laws regarding possession and use vary from state to state. Just because weed is decriminalized or even legal in one area does not mean it is legal to use or own in one’s home state.
Things get even more complicated when it comes to the medicinal use of marijuana, which often has different rules from the ones that regulate recreational, non-medicinal use of the drug. Marijuana has many properties that make it useful from a medical and pain-relieving perspective, alleviating symptoms for a wide range of diseases and conditions like glaucoma. Marijuana’s ability to induce hunger is also useful for those who have lost their appetite, like in the case of patients undergoing chemotherapy or suffer from Crohn’s disease.
What Are The Laws Concerning Marijuana Use In New Jersey?
To make a long story short, marijuana is still illegal for recreational use in New Jersey. Possession of less than 50 grams of the plant will result in a Disorderly Person’s criminal charge, which can carry fines of $1,000 and up to 6 months in jail. Owning more than 50 grams and a person can face felony-level convictions.
As strict as these laws are, if a person has a medical need for marijuana the laws of the state of NJ do accommodate him. Medical marijuana is legal in NJ, though there are several stipulations regulating its use. As expected, one has to be diagnosed with a qualifying condition or illness, which is determined by the state. The law also regulates how much one can own – up to two ounces a month – and prohibits self-cultivation (growing marijuana).
If you have been charged with use and/or possession of marijuana or possession with intent to sell and are unsure of the legality of your use and/or possession of marijuana, contact a qualified legal expert today. The attorneys at the Rosenblum Law Firm can help clarify your situation and help you avoid fines, jail time or worse. Don’t wait to be caught unprepared by the law – consult an attorney today and protect your future. If you don’t, the consequences can be severe and can be a huge waste of your time, money and resources.